Not quite the end

I realise that more than 2 months have passed since the last post was uploaded here, and in that time not a huge amount has happened with regards to Spain or my ongoing relationship with the great phenomenon known as ‘siesta’ especially considering that at work back home people who take siestas by the pool they are supposed to be lifeguarding would be considered lazy or counter productive.

Imagine him with a pair of bright red shorts on…

However in my brief absence from posting to this site I have been appointed a board member of the Erasmus Network of my host university in Plymouth. Having spent the past 10 months living and working in Spain alongside people from all over the world, coming together under the banner of the global Erasmus Network, it is a pleasure to be able to contribute to the Erasmus experiences of those visiting the sunny corner of south Devon that I call home.

 

the skies are never really that clear…

I had thought at first to call time of death on this blog, and to consign its posts and fate to the histories of the internet and never look at it again.
However with the new opportunity presented to me to help offer others the same great experiences that were offered to mr by ESN Vigo, I have decided to merely change the direction of this blog slightly and continue the posting.

It may seem a bit like flogging a dead horse, or at least one that’s so close to death it’s not worth the time, but a small part of me is secretly proud to be a part of the mechanism of global student exchange and movement, and wants to publicise the efforts of ESN Plymouth and our members for the world.

So if you please, keep an eye on this site, as it won’t lay dormant forever and will soon be back up and running again once the new university year kicks off in a few weeks. I do hope you’ll keep reading, as it’s been a pleasure to write all the posts i’ve written so far, and I’m sure it will continue to be, so as the title suggests, this is not quite the end.

But before I sign off today there is one more thing left to do that has been outstanding since I left Vigo, and that is to extend an enormous thank you to everyone I met and befriended durig my time in Spain.
There are far too many names to name and memories to list, but needless to say you all helped make my time abroad the fantastic experience it was, for which I am hugely grateful. You can each expect a visit in your native lands at some point in the future and as the phrase goes ‘mi casa es su casa.’

Leave a comment